Weekend! (Day 20 FMFW)

This evening marks the start of what has long been one of my favourite times of the year.  Here in Marlborough we have two long weekends in a row.  This weekend is Labour Weekend with Marlborough Anniversary Weekend following.  Two short weeks in a row used to be something worth celebrating when I was teaching.  I imagine for most people, it’s the same.   The countdown is on to external exams, senior students are nearly off on study leave, the weather is getting steadily warmer and calmer, the days are longer and to top it all off, it’s paeony season.

Paeonies are the most glorious, voluptuous, charming of flowers.  They are extravagant and theatrical and they transform from fairly modest buds that hint at their future beauty through the petals that edge out past the outer green.  I am lucky enough to live in a place where they are on sale on the roadside and I cannot resist grabbing a bunch on most trips into town this time of year.  If you’re not so lucky as I, you can order some of these beauties from one of the places where I get them myself (http://www.thepaeonypatch.co.nz/cut-flowers).  They’ll cold pack them and ship them to you.  And they look like this (Hope they don’t mind me borrowing these pictures from their website….):

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So, apart from two long weekends in a row that I get to spend hanging out with my family, including my Mum who’s up for a bit, I will also get ot purchase my first bunch of paeonies for the year.  Can’t wait.

Hope you enjoy your weekend as much as I plan on enjoying mine.

Leave a Reply

