Study (Day 17 FMFW)

I’ve always been a bit of a geek when it comes to study.  I love learning and always like to have something on the go in terms of study or a project of some sort.  At the moment, I am study free, although raising three children is like some sort of long term research project in itself.

I did start doing my MA in English Literature a couple of years ago but realised that while I love the challenge and immersion in language that comes of analysing literature and theory, I do not love being unable to fully concentrate on what I am studying and consequently not doing my best work.  If I’m going to do my MA, I want to write a kickarse thesis.  Trying to juggle two children, work and my third pregnancy was not conducive to a kisckarse anything, so I put my MA aside.  I’ll pick it up again at some stage.

My next plan for study is actually to complete my MA in Counselling.  I’ve been teaching for twelve years and I love working with adolescents but can’t imagine going back to it and being the sort of teacher that I want to be as well as being the sort of Mum that I want to be.  So, I’m thinking that I’ll take my experience working with young people and apply it to counselling work.  I’ve long wanted to go in that direction and have done some counselling work through school as well as all the theory side of things at uni so the next step is a year of supervised practice and reflection to complete my MA and be able to register as a counsellor.

In the meantime, I shall write.  And try to read for pleasure a bit more.  It’s good to have plans.

Leave a Reply

